Tim Knifton

Photography recognitions

When I was part of a camera club and competing in international competitions, I used to gain photographic merits including letters after my name.

One particular set of letters relating to photography in Wales was the “AWPF” which was the Associateship of the Welsh Photographic Federation.

The WPF offers members the opportunity to challenge themselves to gain a photographic distinction called the A.W.P.F. or the Associateship of the Welsh Photographic Federation.

The distinction is assessed annually and is open to all members of all clubs that are themselves members of the W.P.F. or other federation by invitation.

I decided on a set of 12 photographs with flow and feeling to them and chose a subject from a recent trip to Poland which doesn’t need explanation due to the atrocities that went on there. I therefore chose Auschwitz and Birkenau as my topic and set out to create a panel with symmetry and flow.

Having attempted this before and failed, I attended a workshop and produced a small set of 60 prints to help me decide on my final 12 for presentation. I had three shortlisted panels but in the end decided on this layout:

Layout

There was nothing else I could do besides convert such a cold and bleak days photography of this awful place to black and white and present it in such a way for the viewer to get an appreciation of the sense of what went on before our time here.

Having read up on the application process, attended a workshop, printed and mounted all my own work, it was time for submission. I was unfortunately unable to attend on the day but two friends reported back after my panel was shown and it was a pass.

Being a Wales only type of accreditation, it was great that all my hard work paid off and my panel was accepted as a pass.

The full size photos are below for your viewing.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8a 9 10 11 12 Thanks for reading.

This entry was published on June 9, 2013 at 3:00 pm. It’s filed under Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Photography recognitions

  1. Nice set, I did my AWPF with black and white as well, tin mines and old buildings.

Leave a Reply

